MAY 17, 2008
SAN JOSE BMW grabs a Top 10 Finish in Formula Extreme!

After several weeks of development & testing, fabricating & track days - our HP2 Sport was ready for battle in the AMA. Unlike the Daytona 200 where attrition, Pit Crew performance & strategy play a big part - the Formula Extreme race at Infineon is basically a drag race for 17 laps. No pit stops, no tire changes - just full throttle racing for 39.4 miles. To make things more interesting, the lead riders kept breaking the track record in practice. This gave us a 'more difficult to hit' moving target. Brian Parriott rose to the occasion & knocked nearly 3 second off his practice lap times when he qualified - in fact, he consistently ran the same 'qualifying times' through the entire race!

Jeff changes the oil after practice
Chris warms up the bike
Chris takes the bike over to Tech Inspection
Brian and Chris in the pits before the race
The field heads out for the sighting lap

Starting from 12th position, Brian gets a good start coming out of turn one
Brian hunts down his first victim, passes and leaves him behind
The pace of the race was incredible
Brian was so hard on the gas that he nearly got sideways in turn 2 every lap
Not much farther Brian... nothing left but the cylinders heads!
No room for mistakes
Up the hill and into turn 2
On to turn 3
Out of the Carousel at full throttle
Brian's next victim - but he's very fast & it will take a lot to get around him
Brian moves to the inside on the next lap and sets up for the pass
They catch up to some lapped riders, removing the lead he had built on #42 after the pass
Every lap was PERFECT as Brian's times were consistently at 'qualifying' speed
At the Checkered Flag, Jake Zemke takes the win (in record time) on the Factory Honda and Brian celebrates his hard fought 10th place with a celebratory wheelie
Brian congratulates Chris Siebenhaar (#42) on their excellent bout in the last laps of the race
AMA Formula Xtreme Championship
Infineon Raceway, Sonoma, California
May 17, 2008

Provisional Race Results:

1. Jake Zemke (Hon CBR600RR), Dunlop, 17 laps
2. Josh Hayes (Hon CBR600RR), Dunlop, -0.066-second
3. Steve Rapp (Kaw ZX-6R), Pirelli, -9.071 seconds
4. Cory West (Suz GSX-R600), Pirelli, -23.093 seconds
5. Larry Pegram (Duc 848), Pirelli, -24.820 seconds
6. Danny Eslick (Suz GSX-R600), Dunlop, -41.164 seconds
7. Nicky Moore (Kaw ZX-6R), Pirelli, -46.808 seconds
8. Garrett Carter (Suz GSX-R600), Dunlop, -51.058 seconds
9. Fernando Amantini (Kaw ZX-6R), Dunlop, -70.594 seconds
10. Brian Parriott (BMW HP2 Sport), Pirelli, -74.864 seconds
11. Chris Siebenhaar (Suz GSX-R600), Dunlop
12. Tony Meiring (Yam YZF-R6)
13. Chad Herrmann (Yam YZF-R6), Dunlop
14. Shane Narbonne (Tri Daytona 675), Dunlop
15. Aaron Gobert (Hon CBR600RR), Dunlop, DNF, retired
16. Tom Montano (Duc 749R), -1 lap
17. Matthew Green (Duc 749R), -1 lap
18. C.R. Gittere (Suz GSX-R600), Pirelli, -1 lap
19. Liko Miles (Suz GSX-R600), -1 lap
20. Berto Wooldridge (Yam YZF-R6), -1 lap
21. Sahar Zvik (Suz GSX-R600), -1 lap
22. Lance Williams (Duc 749R), -1 lap
23. Eric Haugo (Yam YZF-R6), -1 lap
24. Scott Schwanbeck (Duc 749R), -1 lap
25. Pete Demas (Tri Daytona 675), -1 lap
26. Steve Metz (Duc 749R), -1 lap
27. Chaz Davies (Kaw ZX-6R), Pirelli, -2 laps, DNF
28. Chad Lewin (Hon CBR600RR), -8 laps, DNF